The college has constituted Research Cell for the advancement of research activities of faculty and for the development of an ecosystem to interconnect and interact with learned community for innovations. It has developed an initiative called Departmental Advisory Committee (DAC) as part of college Research Cell (RC) for creation and transfer of knowledge. DAC is constituted department wise with members are all faculty of that department with an external advisor who is competent enough to guide faculty for carrying out interdisciplinary research.
The college has two research centres one in Mathematics and the other in Kannada. It is mandatory to have a research advisory committee for research centres to regulate research activities. Research Centre in Mathematics has got funding continuously from DST, UGC, VGST, KSTA and Science Academies for major, minor research projects and lecture series. This centre has been recognised as Centre for Innovative Science Education by Government of Karnataka, Bengaluru.
To extend research activities to all other departments MES College of Arts, Commerce and Science has constituted a Research Cell (RC).

Aims and Objectives of Research Cell:

  • To recognise the thrust area of research.
  • To train faculty to write research papers and research proposals for research projects to get funding from agencies like UGC, CSIR, DST and NBHM, KSST and Social women and welfare association.
  • To encourage student participation in research activities.
  • To publish papers and articles in reputed journals.
  • To train students and staff on latest software used in research activities.
  • To encourage faculty to host and attend seminars, workshops and conferences on recent developments in research.

Constitution of Committee:

It consists of external advisors from reputed institutions. As per the advice of external committee members every department has constituted Department Advisory Committee (DAC) by inviting an external advisor who has vast knowledge of research and good academic record from reputed institutes.

List of DAC members:

Sl. No.
1Mathematics (PG)
Dr. I. S. Shivakumara,
Retd. Prof. Bangalore University, Bengaluru
2Kannada (PG)
Dr. Basavaraja Kalgudi,
Retd. Professor,Department of Kannada,
Bangalore University,Bengaluru.
Dr. Vahini Aravind
Associate Professor,
Department of Electronic Media, Bangalore University
4ChemistryProf. Jayappa Manjanna,
Department of Chemistry,
Rani Channnamma University, Belagavi
Dr. Malatesh Akkur
Associate Professor
Department of Electronics
and Renewable Energy,School of Sciences, JAIN
(Deemed-to-be University),Bengaluru
6StatisticsDr. Jayati Bhadra,
Head of the Department of
Advanced Computing, St.Joseph’s University,Bengaluru.
7PhysicsDr. Ramesh,
Department of Physics
IISc, Bangalore.
1. Dr. S. Muralidar,
Professor & HOD of Commerce and Management
Studies, GFGC, Kolar-563101
2. Dr. V. Rajesh Kumar.
Prof. & Dean, School of Commerce & Management Chanakya University, Bengaluru.
9Computer Science
Dr.Suresh.L, M.E., Ph.D.
Professor andHoD, Department of ISE
RNS Institute of Technology,Bangalore.
Dr. Mahesh P.
Assistant Professor
Centre for Applied Genetics,
Bangalore University
11EconomicsDr. Keshar S. R.
Associate Professor
Bangalore University
Dr. N. Raghukumara,
Associate Professor, BMS College for Women (Autonomus)Bengaluru.
13Kannada (UG)
Dr. Thyagaraj. S.,
GFGC, KR. Puram
14HistoryDr. Aruni S. K.
Deputy Director, ICHR,

Functions of Committee:

  • Committee will review academic and research activities of the department and guide them how to enhance research capacities of faculty involving students.
  • Research Committee will guide faculties to identify advanced research areas and help them to write projects for funding agencies. The activities of this committee will be monitored by IQAC.

Expected Outcomes:

Generation of research funding. Establishing of standard collaborative research. Good applicable outcome in terms of Publication. Involving students in research activities.

Knowledge Sharing Activities:

We organize seminars on the topics of Field Medal conferred to Mathematicians.